All news

“The Word became flesh through an excess of love, because God is madly in love with creatures”

The "Nine Excesses" of Love of the Incarnation

Leave a comment below

The most beautiful definition of God is this: "God is Love". The Apostle John in his Gospel and letters does nothing other than remind us that God is Love; it is always Love, one infinite Love towards each and everyone.

In his Letter to the Ephesians, Paul speaks to us about the breadth and length, depth and height of God's love.

Jesus Himself, speaking to Luisa Piccarreta, often emphasizes this definition of God (June 15, 1906), affirming that all divine life can be said to receive life from love. Love generates divine life, love produces divine life, love creates divine life, love preserves and gives continuous divine life to all its works, so that if it did not have love, it would not operate or have life. Now, creatures are nothing but sparks that issued forth from the great fire of love. God’s love is inconceivable to human beings. Even with our own strength we will never be able to understand the fullness of the mystery of God’s love for each and every one of us.

Infinite and sublime love – God so loved the world that He gave His Only Son! The love of God cannot be compared to any earthly love. God’s infinite love is beyond all understanding; it is unconditional. He loved us before we thought of loving Him. We did not love God, rather it was He who loved us and sent His Son: "You did not choose Me, but I chose you …”. The love of God is like an immense ocean, and we must dive into it in order to get even a faint idea of this love (March 30, 1931). Jesus tells Luisa that the most beautiful prerogative of His Heart is tenderness. All the fibers, all the affections, desires, love, and heartbeats of his Heart principally possess tenderness. And so His fibers are tender, His affections and desires are most tender, His love and heartbeat are so tender that they liquefy his Heart out of tenderness, and this tender love makes Him love creatures so much as to be content to suffer Himself rather than to see them suffer.

Luisa often meditated on and contemplated God’s sublime love. In the first volume of her Diary, Luisa writes that at the age of seventeen, with the Christmas season approaching, she wanted to prepare herself by practicing various acts of virtue and mortification, especially by honoring the nine months that Jesus spent in His mother's womb with nine hours of meditation each day, and on the mystery of the Incarnation of the Word. The meditation of these nine excesses of love that prompted Jesus to become flesh gave origin to the Holy Christmas Novena in the Divine Will. And so, for nine hours every day Luisa meditated all the nine excesses that Jesus himself, with trepidation and love, revealed to her. As a result, St. Hannibal, in a letter to Luisa referring to the nine excesses of love of Jesus in the bosom of His mother, wrote: “One is astonished by the immense Love and suffering of our blessed Lord Jesus Christ for us, for the good of souls. In no other book on this matter have I read a revelation so touching and penetrating”.

Luisa asked Jesus if others also spoke about His Incarnation (December 16, 1928). Jesus said yes, they did, but their words were taken from the seashore of His love, and so they are words without tenderness or fullness of life. Instead, those few words that He spoke to her were spoken from within the life source of His love and contain life, irresistible strength and such tenderness that only the dead would not be moved to pity for Jesus, a tiny baby who already suffered so many pains in the womb of His Celestial Mother.

The Holy Christmas Novena includes meditations on the nine excesses, distributed in separate days as follows:

1.      Day one = First excess of love: Trinitarian love

2.      Day two = Second excess of love: Annihilated love

3.      Day three = Third excess of love: Devouring love

4.      Day four = Fourth excess of love: Operating love

5.      Day five = Fifth excess of love: Solitary love

6.      Day six = Sixth excess of love: Restrained or imprisoned love

7.      Day seven = Seventh excess of love: Supplicating love

8.      Day eight = Eighth excess of love: Begging love

9.      Day nine = Ninth excess of love: Agonizing love

We will examine each individual "Excess" and discover together the surprising revelations that Jesus made to Luisa, so full of the light that never extinguishes and the love that always burns.

Tonia Abbattista
Would you like to enter a comment? Sign up or do the Login!
Last comments 1 of 1
- 1/6/2019
Auguri nella D. V. 🙏💛☀💛🙏